Remembering

2013 was a tough year and I had forgotten just how far I’ve come. Then Facebook memories brought it all back … 3 years ago I felt depressed but yet I see resilience in my smile … I felt defeated, yet many new accomplishments were born out of that time. In 2013 I lost a beloved therapy horse from sudden colic, my business computer crashed, and I was in the hospital with my own crippling pain… the Universe seemed to conspire against me and I could no longer fight it … I chose to end my hippotherapy private practice (which had basically been my identity for 20 years). At the same time I had to face my father’s aging and worsening memory issues … my mom needed more support and I needed to step up to the plate.

Over the past 3 years I have honored my old hippotherapy business by writing a series of books (Brown Pony Series) where I share the wisdom and experience gleaned from many years in the barn. I adopted a new horse that is like an old soul mate. Instead of working every day, I now go down to my parents and help out a couple of days a week. And I’m recovering ever so slowly from the abuse I put my body through that resulted in a chronic pain diagnosis … I’m using this new journey as a way of helping others overcome their own unintentional self-inflicted body pain and abuse while at the same time continuing to manage life’s commitments.

dsc_0222

It’s good to remember, to cherish the past and to review the road traveled. It helps when I feel discouraged that I’m not further along … or in those times when I feel stuck and wonder what direction I should be going now. Even if I want it, I don’t ‘need’ insight into the big picture, I just have to see where the next step is. In hindsight, I’ve discovered that road blocks in 2013 have also helped me find a new correct direction … the Universe is actually conspiring to help me. Remembering has helped put it all in perspective.

Leave a Reply

