Straw and Stress

Straw

I’ve been doing a lot of exchanges the past few years. You can reduce the toxic load in your body by removing toxins that are already there and you can also remove future occurrences  of toxins i.e. exchanges.

I want to give my hormonal system and my immune system a fighting chance for health, so I’ve exchanged synthetics for naturals – i.e. cheap shampoos filled with endocrine disruptors (parabens) for natural shampoos, heavy-metal aluminum laced anti-perspirants for deodorants with healing essential oils, fluoride toothpaste with non-fluoride toothpaste, artificial room fresheners and perfumes (linked to asthma and cancer) with natural scents.  I’m using Norwex silver embedded cloths to clean with water vs. chemicals.

The hidden toxins around us are much more than cigarette smoke and they build up and add stress to our immune system until the proverbial straw breaks your back and you become “suddenly” ill. All the straws are to blame, not just one of them.

If you haven’t heard of epigenetics, it’s the new way of looking at DNA. Our genetics, the physical DNA we inherited includes our eye color, skin tone, and so much more. You’ve heard of cancer genes, how cancer can be inherited? Cancer isn’t like your eye color, which expresses itself at your birth. The cancer gene is based in epigenetics i.e. it takes an external factor to make the gene activate.

Gate

Epigenetics is the study of how a gene turns on and turns off. It’s like a gate – the gate is on the gene and can be open or closed. For cancer, it can keep the cancer enclosed and not let it out or the gene gate can open and let the cancer out.

What opens the gene gate? Stress. Physical, social, emotional, environmental, and mental stress can open and close the gene gates and impact your health on a DNA level. That’s a pretty strong reason to want to detox. Like building up straw upon straw until there is an overburdening load, a little toxin here and a little toxin there will build up and add unneeded stress to your body.

Sometimes, even when we’re supporting our body, epigenetics happens, kind of like “sh.t happens.” It happened to me. I have the genetics for high blood pressure. My dad has it and his sister died from a brain aneurysm from untreated high blood pressure. My blood pressure had been fine for most of my life until the time around my diagnosis with Trigeminal Neuralgia … the pain caused my blood pressure to skyrocket. As the pain became under control, my blood pressure remained high, the epigenetic gate was opened.

I’ve been managing my blood pressure with a herb … I highly value natural health and being medication free. I was on Rauwolfia the past 3 years and it helped until more unavoidable stress piled up. My father’s memory is failing and it’s so sad to watch, in the past year I retired from work that for over 20 years defined my life, and I entered menopause.

Those straws were just too much. My blood pressure rose no matter how much I managed stress and used positive self-talk. I finally had to go on a prescription blood pressure medication. I can’t change the genes I inherited but I’m hoping one day I’ll find the key to closing the epigenetic gate and lower my blood pressure naturally again. I want to heal my body on that most basic DNA level and not simply treat a symptom. But for now, I’ll have to do both.

The straw that broke the camels back. The camels back has to have time to heal and the straws need to be removed one by one.

Leave a Reply

