LOVE

Valentines Day just passed and thoughts of love are in the air.

heart-25130_640

And I was contemplating how we are to love our neighbor as ourself. We know that means that we love ourself enough to keep ourselves clothed, fed, and sheltered. But I think loving yourself means even more than that. And not in the egoic way (where you feel you are better than others, deserve more than others, etc.).

Do you really know what loving yourself is? It’s living without regrets.

What does that mean? It means you do something today that is uncomfortable because it make tomorrow easier for you.

Surprised? Who would have thought sacrifice and suffering is true love. Christian’s top the list on that teaching, but so do those in the health and fitness areas.

Exercise today and enjoy the benefits down the road, avoid this food and lose weight … none of those benefits are immediate but over time they do add up.

Do something today that is uncomfortable because it will make tomorrow easier for you.

What do I do to love myself? Mostly little things. Pack my car in the evening for the early trip the next day even though I just want to put my legs up and surf Facebook.

What do I do to love others? I refill the toilet paper when it’s low and I make coffee for my hubby in the morning even if I’ve given it up for Lent.

Do something today that is uncomfortable because it will make tomorrow easier for you.

What little ways can you bring more love into the world? What sacrifices can you make today that will benefit the you of the future? I’m right there with you! Rooting for us both, rooting for love.

Leave a Reply

