Wellness, Why Weight

scale

Lose weight and cure your diabetes and heart disease.

Weight is a risk factor.

And there are so many other things I’ve heard, and I do believe there must be some association but I’m wondering what role it’s playing in my life.

I’m at an “obese” BMI and wearing size 14 and 16’s … I can’t keep my legs crossed comfortably. I feel fat … 5 years ago I was a size 6.

But … and that’s a big BUT (vs. butt)…

I’m healthier than I have been for years. My mood is good, I feel self-confident, my chronic pain levels are holding at a 1 or 2, my blood pressure has come down, and my cholesterol is good. And I’m not on any over the counter or prescription medications. After a lifetime of allergies and asthma, I’ve had a year and a half of clear breathing and being allergy free. I haven’t been sick with a cold or the flu for the past 2 years (and I have never gotten a flu vaccine).

I have a good wellness routine of detoxing. I avoid plastics, phthalates and endocrine disruptors found in synthetic scents and personal care products. I proactively use essential oils as natures medicine and get healthy fiber and probiotics by drinking kefir in a green drink daily.

I can joke with myself and say I’m as healthy as a horse … and am an easy keeper too. Which would be fine if we were in a state of famine but we’re not, we are in a state of plenty. Thanks to epigenetics and a thrifty ancestor, my body can thrive on 1000 calories a day but my stomach and mouth cannot – they want 2000 calories a day.

Does it matter if I’m healthy? Absolutely. Does it matter that I’m healthy and obese? I guess that’s a matter of mindset. And maybe willpower or won’t power. You can tell I’m struggling with weight and the connection or rather disconnection with wellness. I’m physically and mentally experiencing the highest level of wellness I’ve had in my life but emotionally I’d love to shed excess pounds. Is that just a vanity factor? Should it matter? Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

