Observing

One of the hardest things for me is to ground myself in the here and now. I have to work at being “present.” I easily go into my head to think and plan and dream. But the most peace I experience comes from observing and appreciating nature around me.

Nature photography is one way I use to “capture the moment.” One of the hardest things for a photographer is similar to women and makeup. Women believe they are more beautiful with makeup, and many times they are. But there is a beauty and freedom in being natural too. These pictures are “real” … like a woman without makeup … they are untouched, uncropped, and fresh out of the camera. And this is what I observed this week …

The leaves on the ground.

DSC_0164

Sassafras

DSC_0175

Maple

DSC_0193

Oak

DSC_0195

The winding road as a metaphor of life.

DSC_0198

The play of light in trees and on weeds.

DSC_0212

DSC_0214

The sun in the east and the moon in the west sharing the same sky.

DSC_0215

DSC_0224

The beautiful oranges of Bittersweet and a Painted Lady butterfly.

DSC_0227

Observing nature is a type of meditation. A time to unplug from the computer, take a break from my thoughts and simply breathe in the simple miracles around me. A feeling of awesomeness and gratitude seem to suffuse the air and that’s worth sharing.

Leave a Reply

