Food

I have studied gluten and casein, gut bacteria, neurotransmitters in the body, and detoxing for over 10 years. Probably closer to 20 years.

I know food has an impact of health – we’ve all heard “you are what you eat.”

But I enjoy my Fritos and pizza.

So I’ve avoided tackling health from a food perspective and instead I practice stress management, keep a balanced work-family life, complete regular detoxing, use natural plant-based essential oils instead of prescription medicine, take vitamins and supplements and get a good 9 hours of sleep each night.

I know I’m a highly sensitive introvert and I acknowledge that and protect my personal energy levels by immersing myself in nature and alone time and being very careful about what social activities I engage in.

But food is important. So important, it’s probably the missing piece I’ve been avoiding and so I’ve started in a small way to honor the role food plays in our overall health and wellbeing.

The past month thanks to a friend (hey Karren, that would be you), I started drinking a green drink smoothy every day. Spinach, strawberries, an orange, an apple, and a banana, greek yogurt and some water … mixed in a blender each morning.

Guess what? My body loves it! It takes some extra time but I feel more energy and I’ve even started to add brief bouts of jogging back into the daily walks with my dog.

Food is one small thing to move us in the direction of health. I have committed to doing something about it, what about you?

One thought on “Food

Leave a Reply

