Releasing Old Trauma Held in the Body – A Personal Experience

The mind can impact the body, the body can impact the mind. What exactly does that mean? I had an experience that helped me understand this in a new personal way …

I was in a bodywork session and had a tight area that just wouldn’t release. The therapist invited me to consider what might be holding the area … the word FEAR flashed in my mind’s eye – embarrassed, I said, “the only thing that comes to me is the word fear”…  and all of a sudden I felt my body start to relax a little! That was a surprise!

Only sometimes during a bodywork session will a therapist ask a question, and I was asked what was behind “fear” … I was more open to this since I had just felt my body relax earlier but what came bubbling up next from my subconscious was a weird phrase that ended up being a profound A-HA moment – This is the phrase – “Life if an accident waiting to happen, brace yourself”!

I kept repeating to myself – Life is an accident waiting to happen, brace yourself – what does that mean – Life is an accident waiting …

And then the “A-Ha” – I had been in 6 car accidents before the age of 20 – the first one occurred when I was 2yo and was caused by the hat of my winter coat temporarily blinding my mother as I was crawling around the seat (there were no child seats in the 60’s). I had internalized shame, guilt, and helplessness from these crashes and stored them as a bracing tight muscle response to fear of what might come next in life.

After comprehending this and sending compassion to the little 2yo inside of me, I felt the tension leave the muscles and the area finally felt like it could breathe!

I felt lighter and happier. The mind can impact the body and the body can impact the mind! And the best part… this area has maintained it’s relaxation release over time!

Leave a Reply

